Getting it all together

Discussions about MakeHuman, Blender and MPFB. It is ok to ask for general Blender support here, even if it isn't directly related to MakeHuman

Getting it all together

Postby Ricardo2020 » Sat Aug 03, 2024 1:33 am

I am a newbie on this thread, but I am a veteran computer guy. And so I have a story to tell...

My main workstation used to run MakeHuman v1.2.0 on Linux Mint Una LTE. After some years working with that, the SSD containing the OS and hot files lost the superblock which told my box what it was and what it held. Poof. Gone. The strange thing is, the BIOS could not see the drive after this, but Linux Mint could. However, the drive was unmountable and I could not find a fix. So, I took it offline.

This meant I needed a new operating system so I could run the recent Community software. So, I put Linux Mint Virginia on a new and bigger SSD. After making myself at home (secure the 'net, get productivity going, etc.), I put Blender 4.2 and MPFB2 on, along with all those ZIP file with the assets waiting for later installation. With a bare blending environment, I opened it up and looked at the plugin.

I am now ready to roll up my sleeves and learn how to make a human, Blender style. It looks to be very similar in function, but the workflow is vastly different when it comes to paths and methods. Aleady I can see that it is a much more powerful code set. I hope it will not be too hard to maintain, with a user life long enough for me to get some work done, even though my work is actually play.

When it stops being fun, I will stop doing it.

So far, it has been an interesting ride, indeed. I shall keep the good folks who made this up to date on my progress within this thread so that future newbies can dive in easy. After all, it really is not that hard since the instructions given on this site are very clear. The plugin is practically self explanatory.

Much fun.
Paddle faster. I hear charango music!
Ricardo2020